Gee1man
Share Gee1man's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
Gee1man's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    20
  • Helpfulness Votes
    13
  • First Review
    23 October 2013
  • Last Review
    20 July 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.8
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    15 April 2014
  • Last Review Comment
    15 April 2014
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    5
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    10 September 2013
  • Last Question
    20 April 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    02 March 2014
  • Last Answer
    26 March 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
Gee1man's Reviews
1 2 >>>
 
XT trekking SPDs are designed for recreational riders who commute and tour. This XT trekking pedal combines SPD mechanism on one side and a stable platform pedal body on the other, you can ride with cleats or normal shoes.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality SPD Dual side Pedals with Reflectors
Posted20 July 2014
Gee1man
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've had these pedals for over 2000 miles of riding over around 10 months. These are the very few pedals you can get that are dual sided (flat and SPD) with reflectors.
I got these due to commuting throughout the year, where riding in the dark, it is a legal requirement to have reflectors on the pedals in the UK! They've been used for off-road, mixed riding and sportives in some extreme weather with great results.
I've had no issues with these pedals, and have also used them as flat pedals over 30 miles or so in the dry wearing trainers with good results. They are wide pedals so have given me good foot support, on both sides, whilst not being overly heavy. Throughout the seasons the metal finish has developed some slight rusting, but the black finish looks great.
Despite them being quite expensive, they suit the intended use perfectly and give you that reassurance of being legal for night rides, dual sided for versatility, great quality and comfortable!
A very versatile pedal which I can highly recommend!"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Versatile
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Brooks Cambium saddle is made from vulcanized natural rubber and organic cotton canvas enhanced by a thin layer of structural textile for added resilience making it uniquely flexible, maintenance-free with all Brooks legendary longevity .
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
This Saddle is Superb!
Posted26 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Gee1man
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"I've only had it for 10 miles, but I already know this is a saddle for life!
I purchased the Slate version. Firstly when you see it, install it and use it, it gives you no doubt to your mind how high quality it is. If you want a trusted brand that's been in the business longer than most, but probably didn't fancy the old fashioned look or even considering the welfare of livestock, then this is most likely the saddle you've been waiting for!
I have never used or owned any other Brooks saddle so I cannot compare this one to others, but I wanted a trusted brand which was renowned for quality and comfort and was happy to see they've made this vegan friendly model with unique materials, giving a modern take on look yet still having a little retro design in there.
Along with all this, you also have a supposedly maintenance free and water resistant design which should outlast any other Brooks leather saddle so it's probably a good bet this ticks all the boxes for the comfort seeking no hassle rider!
I was a little concerned that the cotton based surface may put some friction on my lycra bottoms, but this is absolutely no issue at all. My last saddle was giving friction and would pull at times which annoyed me, also it started to wear into my lycra. But I can assure you this hasn't done so, at least not on Castelli bottoms.
The price may seem expensive, but to be honest I purchased a long-sleeve jersey which was more expensive than this saddle, and it will surely out last that!
The rails are longer on this than the traditional B17 which is good (it's more standard to your regular race saddles). So no issues on setting it back to how you usually want it. Ok it may weigh nearly twice as much than your super thin racing saddle, but it's going to give you miles and miles more comfort on long rides, besides how much extra energy will you need to push for over an extra 200 grams or so?
If you are looking for a quality saddle that looks great and feels great, try the Cambium C17 asap!"
Pros: Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Good Fit
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
 
A more compact, lighter version of the Ratchet Rocket offering mini-tool convenience with the speed of a reversing ratchet.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The Only Multi-Tool You Need!
Posted17 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Width
Narrow
Narrow
Wide
Gee1man
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I've been through a few bike multi-tools and none have been great to use. Mainly because folding a tool out on a wide body makes many tasks awkward as turning the tool is very restricted, due to the handle body knocking into the seat post, spokes when adjusting disc brakes or bottle cages when mounting/unmounting those. The only thing they were maybe quite good for was taking the wheel off if you don't have quick releases! But even then you need another 5mm hex to hold the other end.
So the Topeak Ratchet Rocket RX 12 is THE tool which you can use to actually adjust anything without the tool itself getting in the way! The ratchet tool is double ended, one end for ratcheting at a right-angle, the other is a straight end that holds the bits for fine adjustments and has good reach to go through spokes, adjust saddle bolts, bottle cage bolts etc.
I also recommend getting the optional Chain Tool. Combine it with that and this tool is unstoppable. It comes with a pouch that fits the ratchet RX tool and the additional Chain Tool.
There are very well thought out neat touches which I want to highlight. There is a spare 5mm hex/allen bit mounted to the handle which is used to hold a wheel bolt whilst you use the 5mm bit on the ratchet to undo it, genius! Which is the same thing that also mounts onto the optional Chain Tool. There's two tyre levers with one that has a spoke grab slot to keep one lever in place whilst you use the other to slide around tyre. There's a space to slot in and keep a spare chain pin. There is also a hex bit that has a chain pin slot hollowed into it to use for retrieving the pin securely from the chain, without trying to catch it with your fingers or pliers.
The only criticism I have is they seem to charge quite a lot for this, but there is no comparison that comes near, also the tool seems to be of very high quality. I also found the 8mm hex bit tends to be loose every time you open up the lid and it falls out! Only a minor detail.
If you've been looking for or need a bike tool which actually works well, this is the one!"
Pros: Versatile, Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Roubaix (fleeced) Lycra padded waist tight with enhanced visibility 3M detailing for cold dark commutes. Brand new for dhb 2012.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent value and great quality!
Posted02 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Gee1man
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I have been wearing these in all cold and wet conditions and they have stacked up great!
They are very comfortable, more convenient than bib tights and have very good reflective decals on them. I've washed mine nearly a dozen times and they still look great, no sign on wear.
They have kept me warm in 2C to 10C. In the rain they do not soak up the wet, but dry very quickly due to your body temperature and fast wicking fabric. I've never had any need to wear waterproof bottoms in rain, only tops. As the legs seem ok with tights on, and they dry quick whilst your at work or in the evening if you hang them up."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Each kit includes a rubber patch, rubber cement, needle and scissors for 100% air tight repairs.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent Repair Kit!
Posted02 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Gee1man
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I am jumping the gun a bit as I've not yet needed to use mine!
However, this kit is excellent in providing the right kit to repair a puncture/damaged tubeless tyre with ease when sealant alone won't!
What I like is it comes in a nice box that fits well in my saddle bag, and even provides additional space for me to add items into the box (spare chain links, CO2 inflator etc.) As the box is only about half-full.
So I have this in my Lezyne medium saddle bag along with a 2oz bottle of sealant, CO2 canister, tyre leavers, multitool and my Leatherman PS4!"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, High Quality, Versatile
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Lightweight bicycle bell with extra loud brass top and stainless steel spring and can be mounted in various positions.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Great Compact Bell
Posted02 March 2014
Quality 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Gee1man
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I replaced a larger bell which was somewhat louder than this one, but I didn't like the bulk and didn't use it all that much. So I looked at this one.
For starters it fits easy with O-ring rubber straps much like ones you use for Garmin computers and other mounting systems. This makes it very easy to install/remove or adjust when needed.
It is compact and doesn't get in your way. The thumb ringer has an ok spring action but nothing great. You'll have to ring it a few times as it's not always a consistent ring, if you want to be sure to be heard.
All in all, if a bell isn't really of great use but you want one just in case, this is perfect. The ringing is pretty average, so if you are a regular bell-ringer I wouldn't recommend this. You'll be better getting a much larger bell to be heard with."
Pros: Attractive, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
Cons: Not Enough Features
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Castelli Risvolto Winter Cap
Castelli Risvolto Winter Cap
A traditionally styled winter cap made from Castelli Warmer fabric with foldable ear flaps and headband liner. Essential in cold and windy conditions.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Stress-Marks on the Forehead!
Posted02 March 2014
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Fit
Comes up small
Small
Comes up large
Gee1man
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I have a small head, this fits and looks very good on me, But it does stress on my forehead, leaving a big stress mark once you've taken it off for quite awhile (an hour at least).
It looks great, apart from the stress on the forehead it also fits well (on smaller heads), and keeps you very warm and rain away from your eyes, or shade the sun.
But unless you have a smaller head, and don't mind taking the stress point along the forehead, I wouldn't recommend it. I have worn it a dozen times with the hope it broke-in and the front stretched. But it hasn't yet. It is bearable, but it is more embarrassing walking around after you've taken it off with a deep stress-line on your forehead!"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, High Quality
Cons: Unadjustable, Poor Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A compact HP hand pump made of 100% custom CNC-machined aluminum for precise and lightweight construction.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Quality Compact Mini Pump!
Posted31 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Gee1man
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"This replaced an old plastic mini pump I had and boy what a difference this makes! If you are looking for a light and very compact mini pump which does the job and also looks stunning, then this is the perfect pump for you.
The colour choices are great, the pump feels super light, yet is of great quality and feel. It comes with a bottle mount with velcro strap as well. The pump looks great on the bike compared to any other plastic pump. I used it quite a few times and it is good to use with screw on fittings.
I've used this on my Cyclocross bike with 700x35 and 700x32 tyres with no issues. Used a couple times from total flat and pumped it right up without too much effort. I highly recommend it, you won't be disappointed with it."
Pros: Attractive, Lightweight, Durable, Comfortable, High Quality, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The X-King for cross riders, after a successful start on the MTB scene, the award winning X-King pattern is now available to cyclocross racers and recreational riders with RaceSport casing and BlackChili compound.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
No Compromise!
Posted31 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Gee1man
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"This was just the tyre I needed. Having used X-Kings on my MTB, I wanted some for my Cyclocross bike which already came with some nice Cyclocross Race tyres. However, when I installed some mudguards the front tyre had some ever so slight rubbing as tyres were 35mm and tight clearance. Therefore I wanted to find some 32mm tyres or thinner but didn't want to lose much off-road ability, hence X-King RaceSport!
These are double the price, but what you get is a folding tyre which is lighter and has black chilli which makes it last longer and stick to the ground. So hopefully they should last at least double which might justify the price. They really do feel lighter and faster than the Conti Cyclocross Race tyres. Also the speed or reduced rolling resistance is very noticeable too!
With a prominent centre tread, this should reduce flats from thorns or stone chips which happened on my previous tyres which had a much more bold/thin tread down the centre. This tread is arranged in a way that it rides like a slick tyre, but yet has the tread on the sides for real off-road grip! Furthermore the compound of this tyre holds better on all surfaces compared to standard tyres.
I think this is the best all-round urban and off-road tyre for a CX bike you can buy!"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Lightweight, Versatile, Good Fit
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
 
An excellent bag for casual and serious triathletes alike
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
The Kit Bag You Will Ever Need!
Posted28 October 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Appearance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Fit / Size 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Gee1man
fromLondon, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 35-44
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Ok it's pricey, but if you need a good size kit bag (70 litres) for all your cycling/triathlon needs, then you cannot go wrong with this.
The quality is absolutely superb, with a pocket for everything and I won't repeat what others have said on these. But even when full, and you chuck it on your back like a ruck sack, if felt very comfortable as it uses pads and stays rigid.
I literally received it today, but have used it all day and I am very satisfied with it so far. It replaced a 6 year old Umbro sport kit bag which was ripped up, poor quality and actually too big. So I'm sure this one will provide me with at least 10 years or more of good service!"
Pros: Durable, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Rugged, Versatile, Good Fit
Cons: Expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Gee1man's Questions
 
 K810-SL Kool BMX Chain
K810-SL Kool BMX Chain
Superlight BMX racing chain that is 20% lighter than the standard Kool chains and has the added advantage of being smooth on the outside so it does not snag on the grinds.
 

Silver colour

Will you be stocking the silver version of the K810-SL?
3 months ago
by
Gee1man
London, UK
 
The Brooks Cambium saddle is made from vulcanized natural rubber and organic cotton canvas enhanced by a thin layer of structural textile for added resilience making it uniquely flexible, maintenance-free with all Brooks legendary longevity .
 

Does saddle give much friction on Lycra bottoms?

I am very interested in this saddle. But one issue I am having with my current saddle is that it slightly grips to my lycra shorts and starts to either wear lycra down or prevent much sliding movement.

Does the C17 give much friction or not much at all?
4 months ago
by
Gee1man
London, UK
 
This race-ready mechanical disc brake takes the proven power and performance of BB7 and dials it up a few notches with its sleek "Falcon Grey" anodizing and weight-saving hardware.
 

What's included and does it work front/rear?

Hi,

What exactly is included with the brake?
i.e. mount brackets, rotors, bolts and cables etc?

And is this for one, front or rear compatibility?

Many thanks,
Gee
4 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Gee1man
London, UK
 
A windproof jacket for cycling in mild winter conditions. The Mortirolo Due Jacket features a WINDSTOPPER X-Fast front panel for breathable weatherproof protection and a Castelli Warmer Fabric back panel for moisture transfer and heat management.
 

Length of Arms

Just ordered the large, which is the usual sizing on Castelli tops for me, but found this not quite as snug around my waist. However, the arm length is just right.

What difference in arm length is the Large to the Medium?

Many thanks.
6 months ago
by
Gee1man
London, UK
 
The Paragon mudguards from Zefal are the choice for the serious commuter. If you rely on your bike for transport every day, no matter what the weather - buy the Paragon.
 

Will these fit on a CX bike with disc brakes?

I want to put these on a Genesis Day One Disc, will they fit.
Wheel and tire are 700c 35mm.
Thanks.
10 months ago
by
Gee1man
 
Gee1man's Answers
 
The Brooks Cambium saddle is made from vulcanized natural rubber and organic cotton canvas enhanced by a thin layer of structural textile for added resilience making it uniquely flexible, maintenance-free with all Brooks legendary longevity .
 

Does saddle give much friction on Lycra bottoms?

I am very interested in this saddle. But one issue I am having with my current saddle is that it slightly grips to my lycra shorts and starts to either wear lycra down or prevent much sliding movement.

Does the C17 give much friction or not much at all?
Just to confirm, as I took the plunge and bought one, it actually does NOT grab the bib tights (Castelle type) at all! So I am very happy with it! It's actually a lot smoother (but not slippery) than my previous stock Genesis/Velo VL-1200 saddle. The comfort on this is worth every penny!
3 months, 4 weeks ago
by
Gee1man
London, UK
 
A durable, weather resistant saddle bag with everything you need to get out on your bike. Loaded with a RAP 13 multi-tool, tyre levers and puncture repair kit the Loaded Caddy has space for all your riding essentials.
 

Will this hold 2 x road tubes and 2 x gas cylinders ?

I personally can about fit a road tube and 2 gas. Cannot squeeze two tubes and 2 gas in there.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
by
Gee1man
London, UK