matthews2398
Share matthews2398's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
matthews2398's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review
    05 September 2013
  • Last Review
    02 September 2014
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    5
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    1
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    11 March 2014
  • Last Question
    11 March 2014
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    05 September 2013
  • Last Answer
    02 September 2014
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
matthews2398's Reviews
 
Developed for touring riders looking for full length, integrated bar ends to complement and ergonomic grip design.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Few people realise that they need these
Posted02 September 2014
matthews2398
fromWest Yorkshire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
"Two things I realised when I went touring with the bike is the utter importance of a good saddle and a comfortable handle bars. On local rides these things seem less important if there are frequent stops, but touring involves hours of holding the handlebars and these grips certainly ease the pain.
I find that I can spread my hands on the handlebars in several ways to prevent the onset of numb wrists and the need to stop and rub or shake my hands to get the blood circulation going again.
One of my really good purchases"
Pros: Durable, Great Value, Comfortable, Rugged, Adjustable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 R540 Short Reach Calipers
R540 Short Reach Calipers
Dual pivot road caliper brake set New ratio, lightweight design Forged alloy arms with adjustable angle cartridge pads. Quick Release mechanism for quick and easy wheel installation.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
R540 Short Reach Calipers for an old bike
Posted05 September 2013
Quality 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Value 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Performance 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
matthews2398
fromWest Yorkshire, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : Over 65
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Occasional
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Got a Raleigh racer passed onto me and the existing calipers were way passed their best. These not only looked very good in place, but are really good stoppers. Nice one"
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
matthews2398's Questions
 
 Schwalbe Marathon Mondial Evo DD Travelstar Folding
Schwalbe Marathon Mondial Evo DD Travelstar Folding
The ultimate touring tyre, made for roads, tracks and trails of all continents. The tread pays homage to its legendary Marathon XR predecessor.
 

Can I fit this 26 x 2.0 tyre in place of a 26 x 1.75

I currently have some Schwalbe Marathon Plus Tour tyres fitted but their rolling resistance is quite high. Could I fit the Mondial Evo tyre to these rims.

John M
6 months ago
by
matthews2398
West Yorkshire, UK
 
matthews2398's Answers
 
Developed for touring riders looking for full length, integrated bar ends to complement and ergonomic grip design.
 

I have a Rohloff hub with the gripshift only on the right. Do these come as a mix of long on the left/short on the right?

I have a Thorn with a Rohloff hub and fitting these is not difficult. It needed me to cut the right hand grip just slightly with a hacksaw to accommodate the hub gear changer.

After that it seems to work just fine
2 weeks ago
by
matthews2398
West Yorkshire, UK
 
 R540 Short Reach Calipers
R540 Short Reach Calipers
Dual pivot road caliper brake set New ratio, lightweight design Forged alloy arms with adjustable angle cartridge pads. Quick Release mechanism for quick and easy wheel installation.
 

is this product a set of two?

or is it just 1?
These come in a box with a pair for back and front.
1 year ago
by
matthews2398
West Yorkshire, UK
 
 R540 Short Reach Calipers
R540 Short Reach Calipers
Dual pivot road caliper brake set New ratio, lightweight design Forged alloy arms with adjustable angle cartridge pads. Quick Release mechanism for quick and easy wheel installation.
 

nuts

Do these have nuts on the shaft or are they a recessed allen key fixture?
These are a recessed Allen key fitting.
1 year ago
by
matthews2398
West Yorkshire, UK