compton1
Share compton1's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
compton1's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    7
  • Helpfulness Votes
    2
  • First Review
    17 August 2014
  • Last Review
    23 April 2015
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    4.7
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    0
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    None
  • Last Review Comment
    None
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    10
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    None
  • Last Question
    04 May 2015
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    3
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    31 January 2015
  • Last Answer
    14 May 2015
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
compton1's Reviews
 
The Vaeon Roubaix leg wear uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great tights
Posted23 April 2015
compton1
fromWrexham, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
"I brought these tights to see me through my early morning spring rides. I initially thought that they'd be too warm with the roubix inner but decided to give them a try. Glad I did. They are a really comfortable pair of tights and not too warm. Hopefully they'll be as good in the autumn."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Protect your Edge® 510 with this form-fitting, removable silicone case. Available in seven different colours (sold separately).
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Good fit
Posted31 January 2015
compton1
fromWrexham, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
"What can I say it fits my edge perfectly. Hopefully will never need to test the protectiveness of the case."
Pros: High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
A genuine Buff® product - highly breathable, astoundingly versatile - it is made from a fast wicking material which helps keep you warm and dry while riding.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Warm ears at last
Posted31 January 2015
compton1
fromWrexham, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
"Brought this as I saw my son riding with one a few weeks ago and his was made of the same fabric. Great because it can be worn in a variety of ways. Even on these winter days keeps my ears and neck warm on my early morning rides. Great product from Wiggle again"
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
This device clamps into the rear stay (drive side) and keeps the chain in place making it easy and less messy for you when you are transporting your bike to and from the car or if hanging on the wall in the shed/home.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Excellent
Posted31 January 2015
compton1
fromWrexham, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
"Does exactly as it should do. Great for keeping the chain in the correct position when the rear wheel is off the bike and the chain is going through the chain degreaser."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
 Kask Vertigo Road Helmet
Kask Vertigo Road Helmet
The Vertigo is world renowned as the Helmet of choice of Team Sky & thanks to the unsurpassed fit, workmanship and advanced technical features, it's perfect for riders of all levels.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Comfy helmet
Posted13 January 2015
compton1
fromWrexham, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
"Been wearing a MET helmet for the last year which my son gave me. I thought that helmet was comfortable. Decided to look for a new one of my own and Kask helmets were recommended to me. Helmet arrived as promopt as ever from Wiggle and out of the box it felt great. Even out cycling I do not notice the helmet on apart from the straps, but that is no problem at all. Other reviewers have mentioned about the issue of wearing glasses with the helmet. Although it takes a while to get the glasses in the right place when they are on all feels fine. However, that is my glasses others may be an issue.
Overall this is a great helmet and at the price I paid a fantastic one.
"
Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Made with a GFK composite bar end with an rubber anti-slip insert. The bar end and support platform can be independently adjusted to suit riding position and style.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Comfy Grips
Posted14 November 2014
compton1
fromWrexham, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
"I brought these grips after coming across them while looking for bar ends. Reading a number of reviews I found that I was not alone in getting pins and needles in my hands while riding my flat bar bike. They fitted onto the handle bars with ease and once set up they were very comfortable when riding both in the traditional position and on the bar ends. Since fitting them I have ridden over 500 miles and not suffered with pins and needles in my hands, which I did before on every ride. Would highly recommend these for anyone suffering with the same problem."
Pros: Great Value, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Good Fit
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Following the success of last years model, the Belief has been refreshed and rejuvenated for 2015. In its signature sharp white finish with new sleek graphics.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
great first road bike
Posted17 August 2014
compton1
fromWrexham, UK
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 45-54
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : New to sport
Gender : Male
Budget : Value for money
"As being new to road cycling I have no experience of road bikes. Did a lot of research before buying this bike and narrowed it down to this one or the Felt z95. Went for the belief and have no regrets. Have now covered about 500 miles since getting it. Was concerned about the hills around North Wales but didn't need to be as I've had no problems on any of them yet. The bike is nice and light and goes like a dream. Some reviewers have commented on lack of colour option, but it looks great in white. If it gets dirty a quick cleans gets it looking smart again. Would recommend this bike to anyone after it as a first road bike, especially at the offer price it was at when I brought it. Thanks Wiggle."
Pros: Great Value, Attractive, Comfortable, High Quality, Adjustable, Lightweight, Good Fit
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
 
compton1's Questions
 
This 105 Hollowtech II compact 10 speed chainset offers a slim body line & smooth rotation giving optimum balance of lightweightness & stiffness. The chainset also allows for easier installation, adjustment, and maintenance.
 

bottom bracket compatibilty

I have a Verenti Belief 2014, which I am looking to upgrade to 105 groupset. Will the bottom bracket on my bike - BAS 68mm be compatible or will I need to get a new one. If so which would you recommend? Thanks.
2 months, 4 weeks ago
by
compton1
Wrexham, UK
 
High quality 10-speed cassette with hyperglide sprockets that have a computer designed tooth configuration with contoured shift gates, resulting in a crisp smooth shift even under load.
 

12 - 30 tiagra cassette

I have a Verenti Belief that's fitted with a 12 - 28 cassette. Living in a relatively hilly area I was wanting a bit more flexibility for the hills. Would I need to change any other components or do any other adjustments if I was to run a 12 - 30 cassette? If I did change would there also be a noticeable difference on the hills? Thanks
3 months, 4 weeks ago
by
compton1
Wrexham, UK
 
For 2015 Verenti introduce the brand new Technique to their range, if you are looking for a great value entry level road bike kitted with great parts this is the bike for you.
 

Will mudguards fit

Would there be enough clearance under the brakes to use full length mudguards if p clips were used, and would there be enough clearance for continental 4 season 28mm tyres as they only really measure 26mm?
6 months ago
by
compton1
Wrexham, UK
 
The Grand Prix 4000S was the reference tyre in the road market but now gets a facelift. 4000S II gets a Vectran breaker for unsurpassed puncture protection and Continentals advanced BlackChili compound for lower rolling resistance and increased grip.
 

what size tyre?

I have a Verenti Belief 2014 which have kendra koncept 700x23 fitted. Would the continental 25mm fit my bike ok or would I need to go for 23mm?
6 months ago
by
compton1
Wrexham, UK
 
 Fulcrum Racing 7 Wheelset Tyres & Tubes Bundle
Fulcrum Racing 7 Wheelset Tyres & Tubes Bundle
Fulcrum Racing 7 Clincher Wheelset Bundle included in this fantastic bundle is the Fulcrum Racing 7 Black/White Clincher 2014 Wheelset, Michelin Pro4 Service Course Folding Road Tyre and a six pack of LifeLine Essential Narrow Road Inner Tubes.
 

Will these fit my bike?

I have a Verenti Belief with Alex DC19 wheels and a 10 speed cassette. I am thinking of upgrading the wheels and being new to all this was wondering if these wheels would be suitable for my bike and a good choice? Would I also need to purchase anything else for the upgrade?
7 months ago
by
compton1
Wrexham, UK
 
Produced in CAB as Chromoplastics these mudguards are highly resistant to corrosion and ultra violet radiation resulting in great flexibility and a virtually unbreakable product.
 

Will these fit my bike please?

I use my Boardman Performance Hybrid Race size large as my winter bike which I now run with 28mm Continental 4 seasons tyres. Would these mud guards fit the bike and would the narrow size be the best fit for it as I do not intend getting wider tyres in the future?
8 months ago
by
compton1
Wrexham, UK
 
Made with a GFK composite bar end with an rubber anti-slip insert. The bar end and support platform can be independently adjusted to suit riding position and style.
 

Fitting

Would these grips fit my Boardman Performance Race and how do the fit onto the handle bars? Thanks
11 months ago
by
compton1
Wrexham, UK
 
The dhb Clip is an excellent value mid-level jersey which is ideal for sportives and training rides. It has been constructed from an Italian stretch fabric and finished with an antibacterial treatment to keep you feeling fresh and comfortable.
 

Summer use

I do a lot of my riding at from about 6am before work. A short sleeve jersey is too cold for the arms and a normal long sleeved jersey is too thick. Is the fabric of this jersey lightweight and would it be suitable for early morning rides? Thanks
1 year ago
by
compton1
Wrexham, UK
 
The Vaeon Roubaix padded bib tight uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

Another sizing question please

I am 5ft 11ins tall, around the middle 37ins and a 39ins chest. I have a pair of aeron race bib shorts in large and they fit me nicely. Am I a size medium or large in the bib tights as I am a mix of both as per the sizing chart? Thanks
1 year, 10 months ago
by
compton1
Wrexham, UK
 
Fluid, anatomically designed bib short with Action 205 and Carbon Fibre performance stretch fabrics, contrast styling and state of the art Elastic Interface Giro Air chamois.
 

sizeing

I'm 5'11" tall, 36" waist and 39" chest. Would I be better off with a large to accommodate my waist or go for the medium?
1 year, 10 months ago
by
compton1
Wrexham, UK
 
compton1's Answers
 
This 105 Hollowtech II compact 10 speed chainset offers a slim body line & smooth rotation giving optimum balance of lightweightness & stiffness. The chainset also allows for easier installation, adjustment, and maintenance.
 

bottom bracket compatibilty

I have a Verenti Belief 2014, which I am looking to upgrade to 105 groupset. Will the bottom bracket on my bike - BAS 68mm be compatible or will I need to get a new one. If so which would you recommend? Thanks.
I am now in the position to answer this question myself. Having removed my FSA crankset from the bike I then found out that the bottom bracket was NOT compatible with the shimano Hollister cranks. Come on wiggle you should of known this as it is one of your bikes.
2 months, 2 weeks ago
by
compton1
Wrexham, UK
 
The Vaeon Roubaix leg wear uses a super soft fleecy performance fabric to offer reliable warmth through your Winter rides. (dhb Vaeon Roubaix - replaces dhb PACE Roubaix)
 

Another sizing question

Hi,
I am a large in the DHB Aeron Bib Shorts. I am quite short 165cm, but have a large chest and small waist. The large for the shorts fit me great. I was wondering if the sizing would correlate to this or because of the length of the legs should I drop back to a Medium size for this product?
I wear a size large in the aeron race bib shorts and have a large in these 3/4 tights and the full length ones and I find the fit the same for me
3 months, 1 week ago
by
compton1
Wrexham, UK
 
Following the success of last years model, the Belief has been refreshed and rejuvenated for 2015. In its signature sharp white finish with new sleek graphics.
 

What is the diameter of the seat post?

Approximately 32mm
6 months ago
by
compton1
Wrexham, UK