NE16
Top 1000 Contributor
Share NE16's profile
 
Facebook Twitter
 
 
 
NE16's Stats
 
  • Review Count
    25
  • Helpfulness Votes
    21
  • First Review
    13 January 2014
  • Last Review
    15 August 2017
  • Featured Reviews
    0
  • Average Rating
    3.6
 
Reviews Comments
  • Review Comment Count
    2
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Review Comment
    02 June 2015
  • Last Review Comment
    04 August 2017
  • Featured Review Comments
    0
 
  • Question Count
    4
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Question
    26 January 2015
  • Last Question
    07 September 2017
  • Featured Questions
    0
 
  • Answer Count
    14
  • Helpfulness Votes
    0
  • First Answer
    13 January 2014
  • Last Answer
    20 February 2017
  • Featured Answers
    0
  • Best Answers
    0
 
 
NE16's Reviews
1 2 3 >>>
 
The Kéo Blade 2 is a more reassuring, more stable, lighter and more powerful pedal with its design completely integrating the blade for better aerodynamics. With 3 cleat release resistances available to satisfy all cyclists.
 
Overall rating 
5 / 5
Avg 5 / 5 from
Great pedal.
Posted15 August 2017
NE16
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"I purchased the 16nm. I have had many types of pedal, speedplay zero which were easy to clip into, sometimes. But I couldnt get on with the slippery feeling when sprinting. I also found the platform not as solid as the look or shimano. I have shimano dura ace pedals but find I need a little more float, and the pedal feels too locked or the cleat has too much resistance and in doing so gives my knee slight problems but I love the stable solid platform. I noticed that the shimano float is at the front of the pedal, the speedplay bang centre. The looks for me are a perfect middle ground. I can get 9 degree float cleats but find the 5 degree perfect, a solid platform that holds well when sprinting, and the float is toward the heel of the cleat without too much resistance. I dont see why people get hung up on the weight or the stack height? I never once in a race clipped my dura ace pedal, but have clipped my speedplays? Clipping in with look is just like shimano, speedplay was great but I still found it wouldnt clip in sometimes so was of no real benefit. Its taken a while but I think I have found my ideal pedal in the look."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The 2017 Bobbin Gingersnap balance bike, has that classic Bobbin style with pneumatic tyres and basket. The Gingersnap is a simple, lightweight and classy little runner bike.
 
Overall rating 
2 / 5
Avg 2 / 5 from
Lovely little bike but with issues.......
Posted28 July 2017
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
NE16
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"I decided to purchase this for my 2 year olds birthday. Overall its a beautiful little balance bike, it has a cute little bell and basket. However, the finish is quite appalling. The welding around the rear 'chainstay' is barely finished. The paint was chipped before I even took the wrapping off of it.
Now, I contacted Wiggle who responded very promptly as always, with their generic 'we are looking into it' email. 2 days later I receive another email that I can send the bike back and they will look into it further.
The problem I have is this is for my daughters birthday in 2 days time, if I send it back, when will I receive a new bike, or will the issue even be the same on another bike? It should not be sent out like that in the first place.
Bobbin don't seem interested.
I understand it is a child's bike and that it will get chipped and damaged, but not new out the box.
Personally I would try a cheaper alternative next time as I believe you are paying a premium for a bobbin, but not getting a premium product.
Other than that the product seems relatively well built and designed."
Pros: Attractive
Cons: Low Quality
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Introducing the ELEMNT BOLT - the GPS bike computer that does more than track your best times, it helps you achieve them!
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Better than my Garmin 510
Posted04 July 2017
NE16
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Ok its obviously newer than my Garmin 510 but it simply works. It syncs easily and raely requires a lead other than for charging. The navigation is basic but it still provides turn by turn if you use Ride with GPS and as it has maps its far easier to work out what road to take than the old bread crumb on the 510 with no road maps.
The best feature for me is the clarity fof the screen. Its far easier to read than the Garmin, the zoom feature is also nice, as you can change the amount of fields whilst riding if needed. When you connect a power meter it automatically knows you need watts on your screen.
Its not overly complicated, which actually makes it a joy to use, but is easily configurable.
Its not perfect though, sometimes loses signal through trees, and syncing is not always done automatically. As in a few times I have need the device on, and then sync the app. Even though both were running i had to open the app and physically ask it to sync. But it takes seconds and works, so I cant complain. The garmin would need to be switched on and off, reset the bluetooth etc etc before it would sync, if it would sync!
All in all a great device, I would buy another other a Garmin any day. And I'm really picky about things"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Allows the installation of a 24mm chainset into a BB30 frame.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
BB30 to 24mm
Posted25 April 2017
NE16
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Used to fit a dura ace crank into a bb30 specialized tarmac frame after the bb30 and fsa crank were making the horrible creaking noises. Does the job and is easy to fit, id advise to use a soft cloth over the bb tool when tightening as the metal is quite soft and mine did scratch the bb slightly. However, overall it does the job nicely so no complaints."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Speedplay grease gun allows you to lubricate your Speedplay pedals quickly and cleanly without disassembly.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
Expensive get a cheaper alternative
Posted15 March 2017
NE16
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Pro Performance
"I really needed this to keep my pedals in tip top condition.....well thats what I told myself. As an experiment before I forked out I thought I would try an alternative from another well known orange and black colour retailer round the corner from work. Turns out a £7.50 grease gun and £4.99 bike grease that screws into the gun for bearings gets great results too with minimal effort and works in exactly the same principal as the above but is far cheaper and easier to store away when not needed.
I'm very confident the Speedplay gun would have been a waste of the other £27 left in my pocket. Bottom line, look online and buy an alternative as the outcome will be exactly the same......unless your like me and have to have the latest tech and gadgets. Glad I saved my money on this though."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
 
Speedplay pedals are incredibly lightweight thanks to intelligent engineering. The engagement mechanism is housed in the cleat, not the pedal, allowing you to have a double sided pedal with one mechanism (rather than one on each side of the pedal).
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Easy to clip in, slippery feel.
Posted20 February 2017
NE16
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"These make clipping in quick and easy, but saying that there are times when they just wont clip in at all no matter how hard you press down. Ive maintained them with dry lube, checked the torques of the bolts, made sure the plates are level etc etc, purchased the coffee stop cover etc. Ive always used shimano SPD-SL. To be honest, the speedplay pedals feel slippery like ice, even when dialed in they just don't feel as stable or secure as the shimano pedals. Dont get me wrong I like them, but I just prefer shimano. Stack height? I race and dont have issues with either.
Originally I thought they would be easier to adjust than the shimano 3 bolts. The fore and aft and side to side were seperate, but you adjust the fore and aft you need to take the plate off, which is 4 screws then adjust the 3 screws below then put them back on, if its not right you have to repeat the process. After a few times of trying to get the cleat right and using a torque wrench, the little screws are soft and start to round off a bit so the screwdriver head wants to slip.
As I said I like them and could live with both, but just prefer the ease, and simplicity of the shimano pedals. Plus the cleats are £15 and not £40 like speedplay."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
These Shimano Rotor Q-Rings feature a subtle yet efficient 10% ovality which can be user adjusted to take advantage of your full pedal stroke potential. Aero in design, they are available as outer rings (in black), in various sizes & 110 BCD fitment.
 
Overall rating 
3 / 5
Avg 3 / 5 from
Sitting on the fence - Honestly.
Posted20 February 2017
NE16
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
Budget : Quality first
"Optimistic to try the Q rings I ordered a 52x38 combo. Compared to my usual 53x39 round. Firstly they do not shift as well as round rings, but they are not that bad either, not enough to put me off using them ( I have had worse round chainrings). Ive found that they feel like they are lifting your foot over the top of the pedal stroke. Power output has been relatively the same, cadence has been very similar to round. I have not noticed any gains from using them. Install is easy, you may need to remove the crank, but I can swap these out within 20 minutes. you will need chainring bolts if not using the outer shimano chainring (i did test a round outer with oval inner at one point).
Only two real benefits I see with these Q rings. The placebo effect of the foot being lifted over the pedal which is quite nice, and possibly not as tired at the end of a race or long ride.
They may benefit TT racing more than criteriums.
I wonder if QXL rings would have more of an effect, but worry the shifting will deteriorate further?
If you have the money to waste, give them a go, if not keep the money in your pocket.
Currently they are still on my bike although I am planning on removing them, but honestly I kind of like them, but I could still live without them (work that one out)."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The Schwalbe Durano Plus offers maximum puncture protection for race bikes. This lightweight tyre features their SmartGuard belt that offers a unique level of protection for racing tyres. It's also their most puncture protected road tyre.
 
Overall rating 
1 / 5
Avg 1 / 5 from
One ride, one blown tyre wall.
Posted16 January 2017
NE16
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"All the great reviews.......but the tyre wall blew out on its first outing. Maybe bad luck? as Ive had success with the Schwalbe ones."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
The LifeLine Narrow Road Clip-On Mudguard Set feature a PET/Aluminium construction making them lightweight and flexible yet they are still highly durable and resistant to corrosion. Perfect for commuting or winter training duties.
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Heavy, but ultimately worth it due to the price
Posted07 October 2016
NE16
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"They are heavy, but worth the it due to the price. Easy to fit and remove if needed and its great that you can adjust them away from the wheel as needed. I did find they caught the back of the forks on bumpy roads but I persevered and moved them about slightly, also with a slight heavy hand bent them back a bit and they are now perfect, they do not rattle when tightened properly. How long they will last I do not know but they are pretty sturdy so for £13 they are an absolute bargain compared to the more expensive brands. Aesthetically, I don't like any mud gurads but have to live with it to keep a dry rear."
Pros: Adjustable
Cons: Unattractive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
 
Developed in collaboration with Team Sky, the Kask Protone proves that a helmet can be both breathable and aerodynamic
 
Overall rating 
4 / 5
Avg 4 / 5 from
Comfortable, Light, but does run slightly hot.
Posted05 May 2016
NE16
fromLondon
Country : United Kingdom
Age : 25-34
Interest : Road Cyclist
Level : Advanced
Gender : Male
"Ive got another couple of helmets, which are not aimed at aero or fluid dynamics but are cooler than this Protone. The Protone is a great helmet, comfortable, light, and there is a good airflow, however it still runs warm. I raced the other weekend, and Ive never experienced it before with my other helmets but the front pad does not absorb or hold the sweat very easily. It seems to soak it up then drip it down your face and into your glasses, maybe because its quite thick? I probably make this sound worse than it actually is, but its noticeable compared to my other helmets. Please bear in mind I run quite hot anyway and I was racing, its just the other hats hold the sweat without it dripping. The fit is excellent though, this helmet does not rock or move once fitted, it is also noticeably quieter than my other helmets. My head shape is more rounded and fits well into this, unlike another well known aero brand that has an oval shape and causes pressure points at the temples. It is supplied with a soft bag but no extra pads. It just interferes with my sunglasses slightly depending on which pair I wear, Jawbreakers are fine due to slim nature of the arms, but does come lower and feels more protective than some helmets. The finish is very good as far as i can tell and it looks very 'Pro' which is probably the most important thing ever?! I would buy again based on the fit and overall performance, and I love riding with it, but I think the padding at the front does not do this helmet justice."
Pros: Adjustable, Attractive, Comfortable, Good Fit, High Quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, runs hot, padding at front not good
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
 
NE16's Questions
 
If you have your sights set on that podium finish then Vitus have it covered with the Energie Pro. Designed specifically with CX in mind and supported by a SRAM Rival 1x drivetrain the Energie Pro definitely won't be letting you down.
 

What crank length? With a 54 size?

Whtlength crank comes with the 54? Size
1 week, 5 days ago
by
NE16
London
 
 Pro Lite Bracciano Caliente 45mm Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Pro Lite Bracciano Caliente 45mm Carbon Clincher Wheelset
Unlike other manufacturer's rims which are saddled with impractically low "maximum tyre pressure" and rider weight limits, the Pro-Lite Bracciano Caliente carbon clincher rim lets you run your tyres at full race pressure.
 

Are these tubeless versions?

Ive read these are the UHC tubeless versions, is this correct?
1 year, 8 months ago
by
NE16
London
 
The Tornova Team is a carbon bar that combines the plush comfort tops of the Ergonova with the traditional round bends of the Rotundo bar, a pattern many riders have been waiting for. The bar is versatile & light featuring the elegant Stealth finish.
 

alloy or carbon?

Are these alloy or carbon. As there is a contradiction between the description and selection. Also is the price wrong?
2 years, 3 months ago
by
NE16
London
 
Genuine replacement Shimano BR-6700 R55C3 cartridge type brake shoe set.
 

shimano claris

Will these fit shimano claris or what pads could I use?
2 years, 7 months ago
by
NE16
London
 
NE16's Answers
1 2 >>>
 
These Shimano Rotor Q-Rings feature a subtle yet efficient 10% ovality which can be user adjusted to take advantage of your full pedal stroke potential. Aero in design, they are available as outer rings (in black), in various sizes & 110 BCD fitment.
 

Chainring bolts

Do the shimano spider comparable chian rings come with fixing bolts or can you use the existing ones from your old chian rings?
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
If your remove the outer shimano chainring the bolts are built directly into it. You will need New chainring bolts which are inexpensive. You can mount a Q ring inner chainring to the outer round shimano chainring if that makes sense. I did this as a small test to begin with.
6 months ago
by
NE16
London
 
These Shimano Rotor Q-Rings feature a subtle yet efficient 10% ovality which can be user adjusted to take advantage of your full pedal stroke potential. Aero in design, they are available as outer rings (in black), in various sizes & 110 BCD fitment.
 

is this chain ring compatible with the Dura ace 9000 crank arm?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes it will I have this combo
6 months ago
by
NE16
London
 
These Shimano Rotor Q-Rings feature a subtle yet efficient 10% ovality which can be user adjusted to take advantage of your full pedal stroke potential. Aero in design, they are available as outer rings (in black), in various sizes & 110 BCD fitment.
 

DA inner chainring compatible

Can the Rotor outer chainring be used with a standard inner Dura Ace chainring.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes but you will need new chainring bolts as the shimano outer ring has built in bolts.
6 months ago
by
NE16
London
 
The Rotor INpower 3D+ MAS power meter (ANT+ enabled) is the cleanest tool for gathering sophisticated power metrics whilst pedaling. With all the electronics housed in the spindle of this non-aero Crankset, the system is well protected from the elements.
 

Chainring bolts

Can you please confirm if the chain ring bolts are included with this item?
Thanks!
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Actually they are included.
11 months ago
by
NE16
London
 
Developed in collaboration with Team Sky, the Kask Protone proves that a helmet can be both breathable and aerodynamic
 

Colour Black ?

Hi is there an option to get this in Matte black the option that just says black looks matte or satin but what is the finish actually like ? I am after a matte finish.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I have no idea about the black, but Ive seen someone with the Matt dark Blue and it looks really good!
1 year, 4 months ago
by
NE16
London
 
 Oakley Heritage Radarlock Path
Oakley Heritage Radarlock Path
The Heritage Radarlock Path is part of the Heritage collection, which looks back over the last 30 years of Oakley sunglasses. The Heritage Radarlock Path features unique colour styles yet still offers the same technologies as the standard Radarlock Path.
 

2 lemses or 1 included?

The product description says 2 lenses - one for low light, one for bright. However there is no info confirming this on the 'buy' tab.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
The Grey with red iridium glasses came with a fire red and black iridium lens. But without the vent holes as pictured?
2 years, 11 months ago
by
NE16
London
 
 Castelli Gabba Windstopper Long Sleeve Jersey
Castelli Gabba Windstopper Long Sleeve Jersey
A fully protective wind and waterproof jersey built from the latest innovation in fabric technology; Windstopper X-Lite Plus. Tested and developed by the Cervelo Test Team, Aero Rain Lite Jersey is the long sleeve version of the Groundbreaking Gabba.
 

Temperature range

After an awful experience this winter I will need something next year that will be a saint in wind and rain and cold. Regardless of the Castelli temp ratings (from past experience these don't apply to real world well) what can this be worn down to?
If it can be worn down to 0 then that's great!
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I would wear this in 0 degress with a baselayer or two underneath. Its cold to start but once you get going it warms up quickly. If you do stop for a coffee the chill can descend quickly but this is because th jacket is so breathable.....which is a good thing.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
NE16
London
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

Leg gripper detail?

I have noticed that on some Uno's the leg gripper is a series of silicone dots & on others it is hit & miss strips of silicone. Is one more up to date than the other? I only ask because I have found that the one with dots is also a bit tighter around the thigh.
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
I ended up with the strips, and yes the thigh is huge, the gripper didnt even touch my legs it was soo baggy. I went a size smaller, and the fit was better, but the gripper was uncomfortable.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
NE16
London
 
 Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
Assos T FI.Uno_S5 Bib Shorts Logo
The benchmark cycling short for racing and endurance training. Featuring the FI. Uno_S5 seatpad, an Anatomic 6 panel cut and premium Assos construction, T FI.Uno_S5 shorts offer elite level comfort and performance at the heart of your summer outfit.
 

What size - 5foot10, 34inch waist, 40 inch chest and approx 80kg?

What size is best for me - I have a 'stocky' build at 5 foot 10, 80kg and 34 inch waist with 39/40 inch chest…..
Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Medium for a tighter fit, the large is quite a long wide leg fit and the gripper didnt touch my legs
3 years, 7 months ago
by
NE16
London
 
 Morgan Blue Complete Maintenance Kit with Bucket
Morgan Blue Complete Maintenance Kit with Bucket
This kit provides you with all the components to clean your bike after a day in the mud or a day training in wet weather. Everything supplied within a bucket.
 

Does the bucket come with a lid?

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
Yes but it has a hole for the long brush.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
NE16
London